Republican Zach Nunn won the US House election in Iowa’s 3rd Congressional District, beating incumbent Cindy Axne.

All counties are reporting the race results for Iowa’s 3rd Congressional District, according to Secretary of State Paul Pate.

Screen Shot 2022-11-09 at 4.26.24 PM.png

Iowa Third District Republican Congressman Zach Nunn

These results show Republican Zach Nunn with 50.26% and Democrat Cindy Axne with 49.57% of the vote.

For the first time in 40 years, there will be no Democrat heading the Iowa Attorney General’s Office. Attorney General Tom Miller will not serve his eleventh term as the state’s chief legal officer after losing to Republican Brenna Bird in a close contest yesterday. The Associated Press called the race for Bird this (Wednesday) afternoon, with unofficial results showing her less than 2 percentage points ahead of Miller.

Miller admitted to the race last night and told reporters he was grateful for his 40 years as Attorney General.

Miller was the longest serving attorney general in the nation. He was first elected to office in 1978.

Iowa state auditor Rob Sand led Republican challenger Todd Halbur by a narrow margin on Wednesday as a stalled vote count left the contest too close to call.

Screen Shot 2022-11-09 at 4.27.59 PM.png

Iowa State Auditor Rob Sand

With just 0.3% of the vote separating the pair, it was the tightest run in the state and the only one in which a Democrat had an advantage.

Sand’s campaign manager said he believed Sand would win.

Two Iowa counties have not yet reported all election results to the office of the secretary of state.

Some of the late vote counts come from six boroughs in Warren County, where Indianola is the county seat. In Des Moines County, where Burlington is the county seat, the absentee voting results did not match the number processed. Secretary of State Paul Pate says both county auditors should hold emergency meetings with their supervisory boards so that county councils can authorize administrative recount.

Election officials in Linn County – Iowa’s second largest county – had trouble loading all of their vote count spreadsheets, but by 1:00 am, all Linn County results were reported. publicly.

Screen Shot 2022-11-09 at 2.41.39 PM.png

Kameron Nelson, South Dakota District 10 winner

The LGBTQ Victory Fund said Kameron Nelson is the first openly gay man elected to the South Dakota legislature. Nelson won the election for the South Dakota District 10 House race with 25% of the vote along with Erin Healy, who had 32% of the vote.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *